Art Monk


Height: 6'3"
Weight: 210 lbs
DOB: December 5, 1957
Born: White Plains, NY
College: Syracuse
Drafted: 1st round (18th overall) 1980 (WAS)
 Listen Read Think Communicate

Perhaps a big part of the reason that Art Monk is overlooked for enshrinement is because he himself does not 'campaign to get in'. Always the quiet giant, it's not his style to stick out his chest. Unfortunately, that seems to hurt his 'value' at voting time. So we're campaigning for him.

It's ironic that the NFL is so concerned with it's image and yet here we sit, DEBATING whether one of the most unassuming role models to ever step on to an NFL football field is worthy of induction. Never mind that his statistics alone should be enough. Art Monk seems to be the only receiver ever up for induction that has to pass as the 'greatest' in multiple categories to justify his selection. Oh, and incidentally, there is not a receiver presently enshrined that has more career receptions than Monk does -- none.



We have compiled a list of e-mail addresses of those who vote on enshrinement. However, we want to say that everybody sending a load of hate mail to these addresses is not only a complete waste of time, but counterproductive to the effort. We DO encourage you to drop them a line if you have a civilized, level-headed opinion to express.

Lee Shappell, Arizona Republic
lee.shappell@arizonarepublic.com

Furman Bisher, The Atlanta Journal
fbisher@ajc.com

Mike Preston , The Baltimore Sun
mike.preston@baltsun.com

Mark Gaughan , Buffalo News
mgaughan@buffnews.com

Charles Chandler , Charlotte Observer
cchandle@charlotteobserver.com

Don Pierson , Chicago Tribune ***
dpierson@tribune.com

Chick Ludwig , Dayton Daily News
cludwig@DaytonDailyNews.com

Tony Grossi , Cleveland Plain Dealer
tgrossi@plaind.com

Rick Gosselin , Dallas Morning News
rgosselin@dallasnews.com

Woodrow Paige , Denver Post
wpaige@denverpost.com

Jerry Green , The Detroit News ***
sports@detnews.com
Note: Put Attn: Jerry Green in the subject field

Cliff Christl , Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
cchristl@journalsentinel.com

John McClain , Houston Chronicle ***
john.mcclain@chron.com

Mike Chappell , Indianapolis Star
mike.chappell@indystar.com

Sam Kouvaris , WJXT-TV
skouvari@wjxt.com

Bob Gretz , KCFX Overland Park, KS
bgretz@susqkc.com

Edwin Pope , Miami Herald ***
epope@herald.com

Sid Hartman , The Minneapolis Star-Tribune
sports@startribune.com

Ron Borges , Boston Globe
borges@globe.com

Pete Finney , Times-Picayune
pfinney@timespicayune.com

Vinny DiTrani , Bergen Record
sports@northjersey.com
Note: Put ATTN: Vinny DiTrani in the Subject Field

Paul Zimmerman , Sports Illustrated
SPORTS ILLUSTRATED QUESTIONS:
Phone: (212) 522-1212
SI.com QUESTIONS:
Phone: (404) 827-4500
General Information
SI.com Email: cnnsi@cnnsi.com
SI.com Publicity and Media Relations : (212) 522-8473

Frank Cooney , The Sports Xchange
Gridder32@aol.com

Paul Domowitch , Philadelphia Daily News
domowip@phillynews.com

Ed Bouchette , Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
ebouchette@post-gazette.com

Bernie Miklasz , St. Louis Post-Dispatch
bmiklasz@post-dispatch.com

Jerry Magee , San Diego Union Tribune [ ***
jerry.magee@uniontrib.com

Ira Miller , San Francisco Chronicle ***
imiller@sfchronicle.com

John Clayton , ESPN/ESPN Magazine
Requires snail mail
C/O ESPN Magazine
19 E. 34th Street
New York, NY 10016

Tom McEwen , Tampa Tribune
tmcewen@tampabay.rr.com

Jeff Legwold , The Tennessean
jlegwold@tennessean.com

Len Shapiro , Washington Post ***
webnews@washingtonpost.com

Adam Schefter , The Denver Post
aschefter@denverpost.com

Jarrett Bell , USA Today
jbell@usatoday.com

Dave Goldberg , Associated Press ***
dgoldberg@ap.org

Peter King , Sports Illustrated
SPORTS ILLUSTRATED QUESTIONS:
Phone: (212) 522-1212
SI.com QUESTIONS:
Phone: (404) 827-4500
General Information
SI.com Email: cnnsi@cnnsi.com
SI.com Publicity and Media Relations : (212) 522-8473

Bob Oates , Los Angeles Times
sports@latimes.com
Put ATTN: Bob Oates in the Subject field.

Len Pasquarelli , ESPN.com
C/O ESPN.com
ESPN Plaza
Bristol, CT 06010
(860) 766-2000

Mike Wilbon , Washington Post
webnews@washingtonpost.com


You will find this full list WITH mailing addresses here.


Other things that you can do:

Please send this to a friend and
help us spread the word.

If you prefer, you can also just e-mail them the url directly :
http://www.thehogs.net/History/ArtMonk


Click here to sign our petition supporting Monk's induction.
 Listen Read Think Communicate