Darelle Revis

Talk about the AFC, NFC, the NFL Draft, College Football... anything football that has no Washington Redskin relevance.
Hog

Darelle Revis

Postby PAPDOG67 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:51 am

I have a major problem and a question to anyone who might be "in the know" about what is going on with the whole Darelle Revis situation. I honestly don't know why this hasn't received more press, especially in DC. I could care less that he's holding out. My big problem is why he is holding out. I read yesterday he is holding out because he is only due to make $13.5M over the next 2 years of his deal, while he made $32.5M over the previous two years. He's also only due to make only $3M per dunring the 2014-2016 seasons. I'm not an expert, but it sounds to me like someone FRONT-LOADED a contract here....and during an un-capped year to boot. How is this any different than what we got wrung up for with the salary cap hit we took? Can someone explain that to me?

Hog

Postby andyjens89 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:39 am

Because Julius Peppers and Matt Schaub and a couple other guys got a bunch of money that year, but their teams didn't have $172 million payroll like the Redskins when most teams were around $120-125 million
XVII XXII XXVI

Hog

Postby PAPDOG67 » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:01 am

Understood, but it still gives them a competitive advantage as they now get the services of the best CB in the league for a mere $ 6.75M for the next 2 years and only $ 3M per for the last three.....assuming Revis honors the contract, which as of right now he obviously isn't.

Re: Darelle Revis

Postby yupchagee » Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:44 pm